Codedwap

Diet and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

by: NutritionFacts.org     Published on: 17 February 2015

Views: 23,677

174    6   

Description :

A neurotoxin called BMAA that concentrates in seafood may help explain clusters of Lou Gehrig's disease.Get the preface for Dr. Greger's brand-new book, How Not to Diet, by subscribing to his free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe. Most NutritionFacts.org videos can stand on their own, but to understand this one you have to see the prequel, ALS (Lou Gehrig's Disease): Fishing for Answers (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/als-lou-gehrigs-disease-fishing-for-answers). For other neurotoxins found in the food supply, see:• Amnesic Seafood Poisoning (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amnesic-seafood-poisoning/)• Essential Tremor and Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/essential-tremor-and-diet)• Ciguatera Poisoning & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/ciguatera-poisoning-chronic-fatigue-syndrome/)Other toxic substances can also build up in the aquatic food chain, for example:• Food Sources of Flame Retardant Chemicals (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-sources-of-flame-retardant-chemicals/)• Food Sources of Perfluorochemicals (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-sources-of-perfluorochemicals/)• Pollutants in Salmon and Our Own Fat (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/pollutants-in-salmon-and-our-own-fat)• Dioxins in U.S. Farm-Raised Catfish (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dioxins-in-us-farm-raised-catfish)Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diet-and-amyotrophic-lateral-sclerosis-als and he'll try to answer it!Image Credit: PublicDomainPictures via Pixabay.http://www.NutritionFacts.org• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate